A Small Kind of Accomplishment

Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Ours was restful and enjoyable in many ways.

I thought I would put some thoughts down since I have been feeling overwhelmed and this is quite therapeutic for me.

Over two weeks ago our washer gave up. 

It was a Friday night, November 10th to be exact. I’d just finished washing an un-earthly amount of things. I figured it was just having a fit so I ignored it and didn’t bother with it. 

Four days later I remembered it was broken and mentioned it to Ryan expecting he would try and fix it again.

He had taken it apart this past summer after it choked on him. I was off in Phoenix galavanting, and he was home alone with all the kids and mountains of laundry.  

Whatever he did worked.

The washer and dryer combo were here when we moved in. It was a nice upgrade from what we had, nothing. Who doesn’t love free?!

march-april-2013-020
Kitchen entry before with pantry and laundry. The washer and drier combo were left by the previous owners.

Unfortunately, both had been problematic since we moved in. The washer had a permanent stench to it and mold. The dryer did not dry well. Clothes had to be run 2 or 3 cycles before they dried to my satisfaction. Sometimes it dried fine with 1 cycle. 

We went to Lowe’s a few days before Thanksgiving. Delivery was backed up a week or so.

In the meantime I inconvenienced my amazing neighbor by getting a few washes in at her house, what are neighbors for right?… Now she needs to come over and use our new washer and dryer… wink*

And we went to the laundromat twice with $50 worth of laundry to wash and dry.

The delivery truck came today and we got our new washer and dryer!

In trying to stay in that grateful mind set, here are some things to be thankful for:

  • We got a good deal on both appliances because it happen to be Thanksgiving, pre-Black Friday madness.
  • The drier came with a big dent in the corner. That got us an additional 20% discount on the drier and we did not need a new dryer hose. Another 11 bucks saved and credited back to us. 
  • It had been a good 5 years since I washed at a laundromat. It was taxing lugging all our stuff in and out of there and I was shocked at how expensive it can be to use a laundromat on a regular basis. 
  • Going to the laundromat with our 7 year old was a good reminder that the kids are well and capable of helping with the laundry at home. He did such a great job sorting and loading the washers at the laundromat. I need to re-kindle our chore chart.
  • I was trying to remember if in the 14 years we’ve been married we have had to buy a new washer and dryer…?… I don’t think so. We’ve always had used. 
  • The new ones washed and dried like a champ! 

It’s the little things.

Thanks for reading,

♥ Helen

 

 

Author: ComptonEst.03

In 2013, our family of five purchased a 1953, 1140 square foot ranch. This is our journey to make our 60 year old house into a more comfortable forever home.

Leave a comment